September 16, 2020

Supreme Court issues notice to the DGCA and Ministry of Civil Aviation pursuant to Calicut Crash

[ by Legal Era News Network ]


An aircraft overshot the runway at Calicut International Airport killing 16 passengers and both pilots and rendering over 100 injured on 07.08.2020

A technology known as Engineered Materials Arrestor System (EMAS) is available for aircraft that overshoot the runway or abort the takeoff. This technology arrests the aircraft thereby preventing loss of life or damage to the aircraft. This technology has already been deployed in over 125 runways across the world. 

Today, on 16.09.2020, a petition for installation of this system at vulnerable airports in India, filed by Adv. Shohit Chaudhry, AOR, Supreme Court of India, was listed before the Hon'ble Supreme Court and notice on the same has been issued to the DGCA and Ministry of Civil Aviation.

"Pursuant to the Kozhikode plane crash, there has been a constant discussion on aviation safety measures. In order to make flying safer, our country needs to install technology like EMAS, which is used internationally and has proven successful in preventing the loss of life as well as the damage to the aircraft" said Adv. Shohit Chaudhry, AOR, Supreme Court of India, Shohit Chaudhry & Associates Writ petition for your perusal

View Full Petition

Related Post

latest News

  • Credentials of 267 million Facebook users exposed

    In the latest case revolving around data breach this year, personal data of 267 million Facebook users was exposed online on a database. Earlier this ...

    Read More
  • JOLED Files Patent Infringement Lawsuit against Samsung Electronics

    A patent infringement lawsuit has been filed against Samsung Electronics, Samsung Display, and U.S. subsidiary of Samsung Electronics’ with the U.S....

    Read More
  • Former Dy CM Sachin Pilot Along With 18 Rebel MLAs Moves Rajasthan HC against Disqualification Notices Issued By The Speaker

    Former Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan Sachin Pilot along with 18 other Members of Legislative Assembly have moved Rajasthan High Court challenging...

    Read More